Concert Series Songlines
Lectures & Residencies
Concert Hall
Plan Your Visit
Music At Mills
Giving To Mills

Saturday, February 6, 2016 8:00 pm  Littlefield Concert Hall


back to the concert »


blood moon
blood moon is an improvised music ensemble consisting of Matthew Burtner on soprano saxophone, Rachel Devorah Trapp on horn, Ryan Maguire on pedal steel guitar, and Kevin Davis on cello. The project serves as a forum for research into the possibilities for real-time composition and experimentation with the outer limits of instrumental technique. Due to their unusual instrumentation and varied backgrounds as performers and composers, the group is able to draw on a number of diverse stylistic and instrumental traditions, allowing for a kaleidoscopic array of musical textures to spontaneously emerge during performance. 

"Spontaneously conjured, with only the help of knowing each other as performers, scholars and conceptual confidants, the newly constituted quartet Blood Moon shoots at a kind of visionary music. Its roots might be in confounding, academic ideas, but the egalitarian notion propelling the music forward is supremely approachable." -Dave Cantor, Daily Progress

William Winant Percussion Group
William Winant, director
Tim DeCillis
Jordon Glenn
Daniel Steffey
Nava Dunkelman
Erin O' Leary
Yesnia Checca
Imogen Teasley-Vlautin


Matthew Burtner is an Alaskan-born composer and sound artist specializing in concert chamber music and interactive new media. His work explores ecoacoustics, embodiment, and extended polymetric and noise-based systems. First Prize Winner of the Musica Nova International Electroacoustic Music Competition (Czech Republic), a 2011 IDEA Award Winner, and a recipient of the Howard Brown Foundation Fellowship, Burtner’s music has also received honors and awards from Bourges (France), Gaudeamus (Netherlands), Darmstadt (Germany) and The Russolo (Italy) international competitions. He is Professor of Composition and Computer Technologies (CCT) in the Department of Music at the University of Virginia.

Calder Hannan is an undergraduate music student at the University of Virginia. He plays guitar and is interested in exploring the intersection of metal music and contemporary concert music, both in analysis and composition.

Christopher Luna-Mega’s music is rooted in the sounds of natural and urban environments, using elements of traditional notation, spectral analysis, indeterminacy, conducted improvisation and field recordings as means of production. As a platform for exploration of such aspects, he founded The Luna Ensemble in 2013, dedicated to premiering new music composed by members of the ensemble and by commissioned composers in the San Francisco Bay Area. Luna's orchestral work Topographies has been performed by the National Symphony Orchestra, the Aguascalientes Symphony Orchestra and the National School of Music Symphony Orchestra (from Mexico). His Water Studies for string quartet were performed by the Arditti Quartet and the Arcano Quartet. Under the sea ice was recently performed by the JACK Quartet. Luna’s music has been featured in major concert halls and new music festivals in Mexico, such as the National Museum of Art, Sala Nezahualcóyot, the National Center for the Arts, the International Forum for New Music and SURCO festival of concert music. His principal teachers were Ulises Ramírez (UNAM, Mexico City), Fred Frith and Zeena Parkins (Mills College, Oakland). He is currently a Jefferson Fellow at the University of Virginia, pursuing a Doctoral degree in composition and computer technologies.

Born in Zhangzhou, a small city in southeast China, Sophia Shen is a composer, pipa performer, improviser and pianist who believes in the subjective, evocative, conceptual and ineffable nature of music and sound. She attempts to make intangible connections with performers and listeners and bridge the divide between cultures by experimenting on instruments and sculpting new sounds from the rich sonic world through encountering, digging, feeling, perceiving, contemplating, organizing, disassembling and synthesizing. Sophia is currently a MA student in Composition at Mills College.

Rachel Devorah Trapp is a Jefferson Fellow at the University of Virginia studying for her PhD in Composition & Computer Technologies; before that she was a public music librarian in New York City; before that she earned an MA in composition at Mills College; before that she taught music to adults with both physical and intellectual disabilities for the state of California in Oakland; before that she earned a BM in French horn performance from the City University of New York; and before that she taught music to children living in shelters for victims of domestic abuse. she has almost always played the horn. She is from Hartford and calls Virginia her home. She exists on the internet at

Kristina Warren ( is an electroacoustic composer, vocalist, and improviser based in Virginia. Interests include creating and playing graphic and text scores, digitally processing her voice, and noise and repetition. Warren's improvisational practice centers on durational work, extended vocal techniques, and playing with ideas of control. Her music has been played across the US and Europe; at festivals such as the International Computer Music Conference, the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, and the conference of the Society for Electroacoustic Music in the US; and by ensembles such as the JACK Quartet, loadbang, and So Percussion. In 2014 she was named a finalist in the American Composers Forum National Composition Contest. Warren is a PhD candidate in Composition & Computer Technologies from the University of Virginia, and holds a BA in Music Composition from Duke University.


Buy Tickets

Keywords: Mills College

Get tickets now

Sign Up
Sign up for our mailing list, and you'll get all the latest updates.

Send me more info